Reflection

Image

Image

This project has helped pushed me to use and experience with Adobe Illustrator and Photoshop more than ever. I have never felt comfortable using these programs until now. But this is just the beginning of my journey through using both Adobe Illustrator and Photoshop. I’ve learned useful techniques such as shortcuts on the keyboard in which saves time overall. Another useful tool is creating trim marks in Illustrator. It comes in handy when wanting to cut precisely. But being precise is something that I’ve always strived for.

After putting together the mockup of the images and patterns, I noticed something neat that cannot be seen on the computer screen. When the mockup was folded and closed, the two images on each end presented a neat effect when flipping. The Japanese text on one side was at the top and the other on the bottom. So when you flip it left/right or up/down, it gives off a black and white effect. It’s pretty neat.

Some of the technical challenges during this process is the final production.  You need to prep your images in the correct angle in order to print two images back to back properly. It can get confusing if you have many tiny squares in one large square. Another technical challenge was organizing the layers in Illustrator. I tried keeping up with the organization by naming each one and grouping them in certain colors. But after while I tend to forget to organize them. It’s something that I need to work on because it will be needed when working with businesses.

I’m very happy with the final production as the colors and images represents of who I am and my style. The color palette always consists of muted and neutral type colors. My images show that I enjoy taking abstract and macro images. I wouldn’t mind creating another self-portrait but this time I would use more of the brighter colors.

Image

Image

wordpress_pattern

wordress_Self-Portrait Project

Leave a Reply

